Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote-A Review

I’m a delivery driver by profession. As such, I’m in my car quite a bit, and I use my time in the car to listen to audio books. It’s no problem to finish most stories in a week’s time, and even longer books can be made enjoyable with the proper narrator. 

Before listening to Breakfast at Tiffany’s, my knowledge of the story was Truman Capote wrote it, Audrey Hepburn was in the movie, and Deep Blue Something wrote a song about the film. And my only prior exposure to Capote’s work was the film version of In Cold Blood and the movie Capote (the one with Philip Seymour Hoffman and Catherine Keener). 

So I was untouched, a virgin to the story, unaware of what to expect.

In 1943, our unnamed narrator meets Holly Golightly, a beautiful woman that makes a living from her looks and suckering men into paying for everything. She seems flighty, but underneath, she is quite calculating. Capote wastes no time in letting us know she is not a character to admire, but to detest.

But just as quickly are we made known of this fact do we forget it because Capote’s lyrical sentences help to mold a mythical creature that stands on par with the Sirens that Odysseus encountered. Even those savvy to her ways repeatedly fall under her spell.

Once I finished this story, I had to pull over for a few minutes to absorb everything. The story could have ended no other way, but I still felt a tremendous sadness.

I, too, have fallen under Holly Golightly’s spell.

About Jonathan Brett Kennedy

Husband, father to furry children, reader, writer, and lover of history.
This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

